Profiles of great people I've met over the years who are making a difference with the world's children and youth.

Welcome To SuperPals!

John McLaughlin

Hello world, and welcome to SuperPals! I am the Superintendent of School District 15 in Dalhousie, New Brunswick, Canada, and the purpose of this project is to introduce you to some of the very fine people I’ve met over the years who are making a real difference in shaping Education for the new millennium.  These people, who come from all corners of the world, work tirelessly to inspire our children and youth to be effective leaders in this 21st Century.  Our paths have crossed at conferences and workshops, through collaborative projects, in courses I’ve taken, and even just by happy happenstance!  In any case, I am proud to share their profiles with you, and to tell you — from my perspective — why they are truly among the most important educational leaders at work today.

But before that, here’s a little about me, and why I feel it is important to write this blog.  I’ve been superintendent of our school district since 2003, and in that time I’ve come to appreciate the tremendous responsibility we have to educate our students for a world that is facing so many significant challenges.  Our graduates must be problem solvers, critical thinkers, collaborators and strong global citizens, and we have an obligation to nurture those talents and traits while they are in our system.  Here are a few of my own professional interests:

  • New Millennium Learning
  • Information Technology in Education
  • Global Citizenship
  • International Collaborative Projects
  • Inquiry Learning
  • Curriculum & Evaluation

On a personal level, my wife, Cathy, and I have been married for 27  years, and we have four beautiful daughters, Courtney, Meaghan, Mauryah and Kathleen.  We live in Bathurst, on the pictueresque northeast coast of New Brunswick, Canada, where life is pretty sweet!

My first SuperPal will be Jennifer Corriero, co-founder and executive director of Taking IT Global. I’ve met Jen a few times, and I am always impressed by her energy and her commitment to “inspire, inform, involve!”

I’ll be posting this first profile in the next few weeks.  Till then, have a great school year, everybody!

Cheers, folks!

John

Comments on: "Welcome To SuperPals!" (6)

  1. J. St. Amand said:

    I look forward to reading about the people who’ve inspired you John.

    Your embracement of 21C tools in learning and leading is inspirational too! Keep showing ’em how it’s done 🙂

  2. Dawn Weatherbie said:

    Congratulations for walking the talk, John, and for highlighting exciting people who make a difference. I always suspected you could be a super talk show host as well as the super Super you are!

  3. Cool blog concept ;0)

  4. This is a very original idea, I don’t think I’ve come across a similar blog so far. I think seeing yourself as an educator and character-builder rather than a mere conveyor of information is what differentiates a great teacher from the crowd. My husband and I both used to be teachers years ago and I can clearly remember trying to make a difference in my students’ lives and their future. In my opinion, if you’re aiming at anything less than that, then you’re in the wrong profession.

    There are a lot of special people out there who believe in the right values. I’d love to live in a community consisting mainly of these people, but unfortunately that is not possible. This is where what you’re doing is great – you’re publicing the anonymous heroes of our world. I’ll be following your ‘stories’ with interest and am looking forward to being inspired.

    • Thank you so much for such kind words. As a new blogger, i often wonder if anybody reads what I write, and more importantly, if anybody cares. As long as I know there’s even one kindred spirit out there, I’ll totter along! I so agree with you about wanting to live in a world with “goodness-minded” people in it!

      Thanks again for your words of support!

      John

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

